What Would Jonah Do?

Or

To be crazy or normal?

That was the question that Jonah struggled with (and Moses.)

Recently the last piece fell into place. Since the summer of 2007,  I have been haunted by a dream in which I come upon the burial site of millions of people whose metropolis has been swallowed by the earth in a combination of a landslide and earthquake that were triggered by a volcanic eruption. It appears to have occurred approximately eleven years in the future, after Christmas 2017 and before of the Year of the Earth Dog (2018.)

The first spirit I come into contact with is the Earth itself. Furious and vengeful, she tells me her cause is just. Humans deserve die for the many ways they have desecrated her. She is merely defending herself. In my mind, I am shown an attack in the ground that feels repulsively rape-like.

Years later I learned of a new process called fracking (hydraulic-fracturing), it is described as drilling a mile deep turning sideways and fracturing the rock with a high pressure injection fluid. Reading the description was disturbing, of all the ways we abuse the earth, it is the most rape-like, it is what I saw and felt in the dream.

Still what confounded me was that the earth was attacking an ocean side city. Tokyo is my best guess from the clues. But in the image she showed me the land that was being fracked was north of the center of a large continent. What connection could Tokyo, Japan have to such a thing? That is what I learned only  this last week.

I passionately support the fight of the Indigenous People to protect the land. The Dakota Sioux of Standing Rock and a historic number of other Indigenous Tribes have joined them to protest the building of the Dakota Access Pipeline. I feel so much against this thing, it is hard to put into words. There are so many reasons this is wrong, from the fact that these pipelines make it that much easier to stay dependent on oil to the fact that this breaks United States treaties with the Sioux. The possible environmental impact, that a leak could poison the drinking water of the tribe via the Missouri River, which connects to the Mississippi River is one I don’t want to imagine.

I did not expect to find the answer to my own dream but now the last piece is so painfully clear. Many times in my life, I have learned the of power of money to do great evil. Therefore to undo evil you must, “follow the money” (Deep Throat, All the President’s Men.) I found an article at Food and Water Watch titled “Who’s Banking on the Dakota Access Pipeline.”

With sickening horror, I looked at a diagram of the many many worldwide banks funding this, and I couldn’t help noticing that the two banks giving the most money . . . Mizuho Bank and Bank of Tokyo Mitsubishi UFJ are not only Japanese but, after a little more looking, they are headquartered in Tokyo itself.

For nine years I have not done anything more radical about my dream than to start this website, but now I have the last piece, like a smoking gun, it sits heavy in my hand. These banks have names now, websites and addresses. What do I do? Is there a simple polite way to say “I know this sound’s crazy but I had this dream and I would really appreciate it if you would seriously rethink these investments you’ve made. Please.”

Leave a Comment

