Posted in Gratitude, spirituality, Spring 2016

Green as the Giving Tree

Green

Green is the color of the heart chakra. It is the center for unconditional love. Nature backs this up with a world full of greenery that makes life possible. From the air we breath and the food we eat to the clothes we wear and the homes we build, greenery is responsible for gift after gift. So it is fitting that we talk now of a “green” revolution, a new way of thinking of our global challenge to save this world, but do not forget that it starts in the heart, in the love of all nature and humanity together.

I wish to be green as the giving tree. In Shel Silverstein’s book, the giving tree is happy to give all it has to the boy. To some it seems a sad story, but I happen to have an apple tree in my back yard and I know there is more to the story. For example, when the boy goes away the trees seems lonely, but real trees talk to each other chemically. In the story the tree gives away all her apples for the boy to sell. In real life you rarely sell all the apples, some of the apples have worms. Most people let the worm eaten apples fall to the ground and there children (other apple trees) spring up and they keep mother tree company. In the story the boy takes all of the trees branches to make a house. It would make much more sense to prune the branches, which makes trees very happy really. Apples growing every year would provide a better income to build a house or boat. The only reason to cut the tree down would be that the tree had died.

And once dead it is lovely to think the trunk could be used to make a boat or home, etc. Lastly the story ends with the boy as an old man sitting on a tree stump. Again even after death the tree gives a place to rest to its friend. I think it is not only beautiful but true. Nature loves to give and give and all it wants back is appreciation and respect. Are we (humans) so different?

Author:

Carolyn E. Osiris = Openly seeking inquisitive, reverent, immortal souls. As a full time caretaker for my severely autistic son I don't get out much. That gives me all the more time for the journey inward towards self-realization. That's what I've been doing for most of my life really and the time has come for me to share.

2 thoughts on “Green as the Giving Tree

  1. I can remember crying my eyes out while reading that book to my preschoolers lol. I think the target audience was much more women who give everything they have to those they love than for the 3 and 4 year olds who have a melt down if someone happens to touch their favourite (insert any item that is touched by a sibling here lol)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used the book to help a nephew learn to read. He wasn’t too phased by it, just proud that every page had words he recognized. Then I showed it to my older sister, she started crying so much. I felt really bad. I think some of us relate a little too well to the tree, waiting for some boy to come make us happy.

    Like

Leave a Comment

