Posted in Why? Wednesday

Why Moon Children Hear Voices

Today being the full moon (sap moon) I thought it was time to share a little moon magic.

When the voice in my dream told me that I was chosen because I was a moon child, saying the others I had suggested were star children I didn’t know what it meant. First I thought of astrology but I decided that could not be what it meant. While those born in the sign of Cancer are called moon children, I had never heard the other signs called star children.

It was a poem that brought me my first inspiration.

The night has a thousand eyes,


And the day but one;


Yet the light of the bright world dies


With the dying sun.



The mind has a thousand eyes,


And the heart but one:


Yet the light of a whole life dies


When love is done. – Francis William Bourdillion

When it mentioned the life dying with the sun. It reminded me of how the Egyptians thought that when the sun went down it traveled to the land of the dead. Looking at the poem a second time I felt a little sad that it made no mention of the moon. Like a bolt of lightening, I got it. If you imagine the sun going down to the land of the dead and then the moon comes rises shining bright. Though the moon shines bright, it does not shine with its own light. The moon reflects the light of the sun, even when it is on the other side of the world.

The sun is a star, a star so close and so bright that in the day no sun can be seen. That was what was meant by star children. Star children are people who shine brightly with there own light and while that brightness makes them likeable and easy to understand and get to know, it also blots out the light of other entities around them. Entities like the dead.

But the moon child is shy and deep and seems moody. The moon child appears to brood alone. They are never alone. They hear voices and see things and if they chose to reflect them, they can shine with the reflected light of other people. It is natural for other people to be confused or feel uncomfortable, to call the moon child moody. The moon child is often confused too just more comfortable with it as they likely have always been this way.

As to astrology, just a few years ago while doing my chart, I found I had Mercury in Cancer. Mercury represents the microphone with which we speak to the world. However when Mercury is in Cancer it can switches from a microphone to a receiver and hears what others can’t.

But I ask no one not to question my sources, it is ever my intention to inspire others to question and listen and find their own truth.

Author:

Carolyn E. Osiris = Openly seeking inquisitive, reverent, immortal souls. As a full time caretaker for my severely autistic son I don't get out much. That gives me all the more time for the journey inward towards self-realization. That's what I've been doing for most of my life really and the time has come for me to share.

One thought on “Why Moon Children Hear Voices

Leave a Comment

