What God Hath Joined

You shall not commit adultery- Exodus 20:14

adultery |əˈdəlt(ə)rē|

noun

voluntary sexual intercourse between a married person and a person who is not his or her spouse: she was committing adultery with a much younger man.

ORIGIN late 15th cent.: from the obsolete noun adulter, from Latin adulter ‘adulterer,’ replacing an earlier form avoutrie, from Old French avouterie, likewise based on Latin adulter .- New Oxford American Dictionary

This would be easier to discuss, except I have in my life had to question more than once, “what is marriage?” What makes two people married? I thought I was married until my husband started telling me that he considered our marriage nothing but a piece of paper. Our marriage was legal, but as he said it like that, I felt deeply certain that we had never really been married. We never shared the same idea of marriage. For me it was a sacred vow made not only to each other, but to God, to think of ourselves as one. No hurt nor joy should affect one that did not affect the other. That was my belief, and I had contorted myself out of shape so that I barely knew who I was trying to make our marriage work. Yet he was ever poking me, prodding me to prove I loved him. In the end, I came to feel the only way I could keep my marriage vow to God, to always put his happiness first, was to divorce him, since he had made it so inescapably clear, he would never be happy with me. As for me, our marriage had been a lie, for I could never accept that married was ever meant to be merely a legal status.

But at the beginning of creation God “made them male and female,” for this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.” – Mark 10:6-9

Before I dreamed I met God, it was enough for me to believe that these verses were to teach us not to get divorced. But after, I saw a whole new meaning. I saw God as the matchmaker for us all and intangible as it seemed, that our true spouse is the one who makes us whole, the one from whom we can not separate, in our heart, from ourself. But as ever free will means, no matter how well God sets us up, we can still ruin it by refusing to listen to our hearts. That is why when I looked in God’s eye I saw such tremendous sorrow. He tries again and again to help us find that one to make us whole. While we screw it up with our insisting on following the rules of man, for marriage, letting culture, class, age, religion, even gender (physical as opposed to spiritual) keep apart those that God made to be together.

As for adultery, that’s when you let someone else come between you and the one who makes you whole. It is when man (or woman) separates that which God joined together.

Leave a Comment

