Posted in Texts Tuesday

What is Murder?

“Do you want me to kill you?” These are the darkest words a mother may ask her own child, when she sees them suffer. My son seemed so angry during puberty as he became an adult. He was violent as he never was before. It is a very painful time for autistic people. It is even more difficult for parents who must ask, “Does my child have a future?” For one mother in my area, she killed her daughter and then herself, when her daughter with Downs syndrome, was too old to go to school, I guess the answer was “no.”

You shall not murder.- Exodus 20:13

The sixth commandment of the Hebrew Bible seems so clear until you ask what is murder and what is mercy.

murder |ˈmərdər|

noun

the unlawful premeditated killing of one human being by another: the stabbing murder of an off-Broadway producer | he was put on trial for attempted murder.

informal a very difficult or unpleasant task or experience: my first job at the steel mill was murder.

verb [ with obj. ]

kill (someone) unlawfully and with premeditation: somebody tried to murder Joe.

informal punish severely or be very angry with: my father will murder me if I’m home late.

informal conclusively defeat (an opponent) in a game or sport.

spoil by lack of skill or knowledge: the only thing he had murdered was the English language.

ORIGIN Old English morthor, of Germanic origin; related to Dutch moord and German Mord, from an Indo-European root shared by Sanskrit mará ‘death’ and Latin mors; reinforced in Middle English by Old French murdre .-New Oxford American Dictionary

The definition puts great emphasis on the killing being unlawful, but that only begs the question. Is killing ever lawful? Read on through the Bible and you will find one after another reason to kill. Yet I believe these are corruptions arising from the violent times when the Bible was written. After all there are many different types of laws, laws of physics, laws of nations, laws of math, and laws of nature.

To determine if a kill is murder, I suggest looking to spiritual laws. Do you know the first law? It is the law that God, himself will not disobey. The first law is Free Will. Therefore to kill anyone who does not wish to die is murder. The Native American hunter must ask his prey before he shoots to kill. He listens when the animal looks at him, to know if it is ready. After the kill he must thank the animal and show respect to its spirit.

This brings me to the second law. As in physics, every action causes an equal and opposite reaction. To kill with the intent to dominate, destroy or degrade shall always cause equal damage to the souls involved in the act of killing. In the spiritual world, intention, compassion and respect matter. I have had to euthanize a number of pets in my life. It was never easy, but I let them indicate to me that they were willing to go, before I decided. It makes all the difference when I meet them in dreams after death, to know they accepted it.

The third law is nothing is impossible, nothing as in nothingness. When a living thing dies its spirit does not disintegrate into thin air. The spirit moves on and the determining factor of where it goes depends on what was in the mind of the dying at death. This is why it is important to be with loved ones when they die. Feeling loved and appreciated at the moment of death can make a huge difference in a spirit traveling peacefully on rather than getting stuck and haunting their killer.

If the victim dies badly, against their will, with unfinished business and without respect being shown to their spirit, this is murder.

I was lucky when I asked my son. Looking in his eyes, I heard his response in my head.

I want you to be happy. He gave me the key to stopping his pain. I knew then I could make everything okay, as long as I did what was right for me, it would be right for him. I learned to stop being a martyr, to be a little selfish, to enjoy life again and he did too.

Author:

Carolyn E. Osiris = Openly seeking inquisitive, reverent, immortal souls. As a full time caretaker for my severely autistic son I don't get out much. That gives me all the more time for the journey inward towards self-realization. That's what I've been doing for most of my life really and the time has come for me to share.

Leave a Comment

