Take the Name

When I first began to write, it was difficult to decide what term to use for God. The word means so many different things to different people, and I find it distasteful to have to use it so often. Yet the more I played with different terms, Lord, interdependent web of life, a higher power, Great Spirit, Allah, Jehovah, Krishna, Oneness, spirit of Life, the Creator, the more I felt I was letting terminology get in the way of what I wanted to say.

So I wrote my first blogg Defining God and was done with worrying about what name to use. As far as I am concerned all the above names are appropriate as well as many more, Love, Mercy, Justice . . .

This does however broaden greatly the meaning of the third commandment. There is not a lot of difference between the third commandment in the new King James Version:

You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes His name in vain.-Exodus 20:7

and the New International Version:

You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold any guiltless who misuses his name.- Exodus 20:7

What I love about this commandment is that it reminds us of a very old, very powerful kind of magic. The magic of words and of names, of summoning and of making. It is that magic that makes cursing in all its forms, not just the Lord’s name, taboo.

Jesus further explained this:

But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgement. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words will be condemned.- Matthew 12: 36-37 (New KJV)

Buddhist and Existential philosophy take words and thoughts even more seriously, suggesting that our world around us is created by our thoughts. It seemed silly at first, then frightening to think we each have so much power. The more I open my mind to it the more evidence I find. I know it is true in the astral/ spirit realm thoughts have power and make things happen. I think it may be just as true in the physical world only better hidden.

I do not wish to use the Lord’s name in vain nor to misuse its power, but rather to use it as it was meant to be used. With respect and love for the Sentient Being that binds all the universe together for our benefit and enlightenment.

I strongly advocate cleansing one’s heart and soul everyday through meditation, as suggested by Vibrant, just as you would cleanse your body.

For as Jesus said:

Do you not yet understand that whatever enters your mouth goes into the stomach and is eliminated? But those things which proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and they defile a man. For out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies. These are the things which defile a man, but to eat with unwashed hands does not defile a man. – Matthew 15:17-20 (New KJV)

(19/734 )

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. cracTpot says:

    I don’t think our blogs could be any more different, and I’m rarely serious, but I wanted to just take a moment to say seriously that you write beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

