Words I Cannot Speak

These are words I can not speak

People think I am crazy because

I walk alone at night, seemingly unafraid

but my thinking is this

If I am raped robbed or killed by a stranger

it is ok because

a stranger can only hurt my body

But there are worse things

if I am attacked by someone I trust

my father brother or husband

it will be my heart spirit and soul

that become damaged broken empty

I can not relive that nightmare

there are no wounds or scars to see

but they are there

So long as you are a stranger

I feel safe, as safe as I can anyways

but if I should come to care

to trust and to love you

I am terrified, all my broken cracks show

I fall apart merely out of fear

and Memory

These are the words I can not speak

to say them aloud

would be to admit defeat

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amra Ismail says:

    This is so poignant. It is indeed true that being hurt by those you trust is worse than being hurt by strangers. I love the way you have connected and proved the idea that strangers are safe. It’s such a different thought and one that makes sense too. Hoping to read more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

