Defining God

A great difficulty I face every time I try to rationally discuss God with anyone is that first we each have to define God. That discussion often takes up a great deal of time and inevitably some small point throws us into disagreement so that I am forced to drop all hope of discussing the question I wished to ask and instead must clarify my definition.

This happened most recently when I tried to explain to my muslim friend what I believed God needed me to do. I regretted immediately having used the word “needed.” God does not need us for anything, he told me, God is all powerful. I agreed with him. The God that I believe in is all powerful, but . . .

The God I believe in is both male and female though I use the masculine pronouns He, His and Him. He is an entity of infinite size that connects our universe in another, higher dimension beyond our present ability to discern. He is able to communicate with us at will and make any miracle we imagine possible save one. My God has one restriction.

This is perhaps the most difficult to talk about and yet to my mind without this one restriction there can be no purpose to discussing God at all. You see, the restriction I refer to is not one laid by outside forces upon God, but rather it is the single law that, in most religions, He made for Himself. It is the law of free will. Without this first law, what reason is there to discuss ten commandments, five pillars or 20 ni-yamas. Even the three-, seven- or ten-fold law I have read in assorted pagan books becomes void if you do not first give credence to the law of free will.

Thus when I tried to tell my friend that I believed that God needed me to do something, I should have said that God wanted me to do this something, of my own free will, because He shall not break His own law, though it may mean the destruction of humankind and this earth as we know it.

By all means pray to God for guidance, but if you would save yourself, your loved ones and this world, you and I must do it ourselves. That is the bitter side of knowing that free will is the first law. It is up to us to make right the wrongs of mankind.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Comment

